top of page

LEG 2
GIJÓN - ROYAN

NUMBER OF MILES

605

DEPARTURE DATES

September 1, 2024

ESTIMATED ARRIVAL

September 5, 2024

LEG DESCRIPTION

605 miles between Gijón and Royan and a 2nd crossing of the Bay of Biscay as the main feature. 

After a few well-deserved days' rest, the Figaro racers will set sail again, leaving the north Spanish coast to head for Royan, the host town for the 2nd time after a successful first stopover in 2022, which left a very good impression on the skippers as well as on the general public, who turned out in force with almost 45,000 visitors to the Race Village. ‘The second leg will see them cross the Bay of Biscay a second time, this time from west to east. In order to offer a variety of stages, there will be a special marker to look for after Cape Finisterre, weather permitting, which will give them a very coastal start to the course, with some site effects to manage.

The second part of the course, which has no waypoints, will be open before a fairly free finish in Royan. In terms of conditions, it's pretty hard to predict. There are several possible weather scenarios for this leg, with potential choices to be made in relation to a ridge of high pressure or thermal effects on the Iberian Peninsula.

You don't want to get trapped in a windless zone, particularly at night, because of the relief of the coastline at that point, and you need to hang on to the pack. The finish in Royan will potentially be quite tricky, with a relatively strong tidal coefficient.

CROSSING POINTS

38019595_edited.jpg

Cape Finisterre

Located at the western tip of Spain, this cape is a mythical point where the Atlantic meets the land. Known as the ‘End of the Earth’ to sailors, this majestic cliff marked the end of the known world for centuries. Today, it is a place of contemplation for travellers and a dreaded challenge for sailors.

top of page

ÉTAPE 2
GIJÓN - ROYAN

NOMBRE DE MILES

605

DATES DÉPART

1 septembre 2024

ARRIVÉE ESTIMÉE

5 septembre 2024

DESCRIPTION DE L'ÉTAPE

605 milles entre Gijón et Royan et une 2nde traversée du golfe de Gascogne en plat de résistance. 

Après quelques jours de repos bien mérités, les Figaristes reprendront la mer et quitteront la côte nord-hispanique pour mettre le cap sur Royan, ville-hôte pour la 2e fois après une première escale réussie en 2022, qui avait laissé un très bon souvenir aux skippers ainsi qu’au grand public venu nombreux avec près de 45.000 visiteurs sur le Village de la course. « La deuxième étape leur fera traverser une seconde fois le golfe de Gascogne, d’ouest en est cette fois. Afin de proposer des étapes variées, il y aura une marque spéciale à aller chercher après le cap Finisterre si la météo le permet, ce qui donnera lieu à un début de parcours très côtier avec des effets de site à gérer.

La seconde partie du parcours, qui ne comporte aucun waypoint, sera ouverte avant une arrivée assez libre sur Royan. Niveau conditions, il est assez dur de se projeter. Il existe en effet plusieurs scenario possibles en matière de météo sur cette étape, avec potentiellement des choix à faire par rapport à un axe de dorsale ou aux effets thermiques sur la péninsule ibérique.

Il ne faudra pas se faire piéger dans une zone sans vent notamment la nuit, du fait du relief des côtes à ce niveau-là, et rester bien accroché au paquet. L’arrivée à Royan sera potentiellement assez piégeuse, avec un coefficient de marée relativement fort. »

POINT DE PASSAGE

38019595_edited.jpg

Le Cap Finisterre

Situé à l'extrémité occidentale de l'Espagne, ce cap est un point mythique où l'Atlantique rencontre la terre. Connue comme la "Fin de la Terre" pour les marins, cette majestueuse falaise marque la fin du monde connu pendant des siècles. Aujourd'hui, c'est un lieu de contemplation pour les voyageurs et un défi redouté pour les navigateurs.